some alt text
For Technical Support
(800) 357-1072
Florida Early Learning and Developmental Standards


domain item placeholder

Standards and benchmarks reflect the knowledge and skills that a child on a developmental progression should know and be able to do at the end of an age-related timeframe. In 2017, the Office of Early Learning convened a group of national and state early learning content experts to review current standards and recommend revisions to ensure that standards are rich, interactive and lead to better preparation for children based on current research to support high-quality standards. The Florida Early Learning and Developmental Standards – Birth to Kindergarten (2017) were adopted by the State Board of Education in December, 2017.

The revised standards address eight early learning and developmental domains reflecting a child’s expected age-appropriate progress – physical development, approaches to learning, social and emotional development, language and literacy, mathematical thinking, scientific inquiry, social studies and creative expression through the arts.